Ask the Author: Sylvia Liu

Photo credit: © K. Woodard Photography

What would you like readers to know about you?

I’m a middle grade author who is curious about the world and its natural places. I’m grew up in Caracas Venezuela as an American-born child of Chinese immigrants and went to international schools from K-12th grade. I returned to the U.S. for college and law school and practiced public interest environmental law for over a decade, at the U.S. Department of Justice and the nonprofit marine conservation group, Oceana. Now I spend my time writing in all genres of middle grade, usually with an environmental theme. Manatee’s Best Friend (Scholastic) is my first middle grade book, and I have a middle grade science fiction coming out next year, Hana Hsu and the Ghost Crab Nation, with Razorbill, an adventure set in a high-tech future. I’m also the author of the picture book, A Morning with Grandpa, illustrated by Christina Forshay (Lee and Low Books, 2016), where a grandfather and his granddaughter teach each other tai chi and yoga. 

What is your book about for those who haven’t read it? 

In Manatee’s Best Friend, which comes out on August 3, Becca Wong Walker is a 12-year-old girl who must overcome shyness and the unexpected spotlight of a viral video to help save her manatee friends from boating dangers. While finding her voice, Becca also learns to make new human friends. 

What has been your inspiration for writing it? 

I’ve always been interested in environmental issues, and I’ve always had a soft spot for marine mammals. Manatees are such gentle and loveable creatures, but they are threatened by boat strikes, habitat loss, entanglement, and chemical runoff. Sadly, in 2021, the number of manatee deaths has skyrocketed. I hope to inspire children to fall in love with marine life and to speak up for the environment. 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write? 

I loved writing about the interactions between the manatees and the dolphin. They were inspired by my visit to Crystal River, Florida, where I had the incredible fortune of seeing the manatees in the wild and having a dolphin encounter with our tour boat. A dolphin frolicked in the water near us, and then swam up to our boat and swiveled to show us his smile and one eye. It was magical. 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer? 

When I was younger and read books avidly, it didn’t even occur to me that I could also be an author. When I began to write picture books, I got ideas to write novels. I read as many middle grade books as I could get my hands on and was inspired by so many great authors. A few years ago, I was mentored by the amazing Tae Keller (When You Trap a Tiger, The Science of Breakable Things) in the Author Mentor Match program, and she continues to be a huge inspiration to work at my craft.  

What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book? 

Read a ton in and out of your age group and genre. The more you read, the better a writer you will be. Study the books you love to figure out what makes them work. Connect with other writers. Find peers to share critiques, grow together, and cheer each other on. Sign up for classes, workshops, or mentorship programs to develop your craft. I highly recommend both Author Mentor Match and Pitch Wars as mentor programs. 

Where can people buy your book or find you online? 

Manatee’s Best Friend is sold anywhere books are sold. My local indie bookstore, Prince Books in Norfolk, Virginia, is running a pre-order campaign. If you buy from them, you’ll get a signed copy and an adorable bookmark. 

My website is http://www.enjoyingplanetearth.com, I’m @artsylliu on Twitter, @sylliu on Instagram, and on Facebook.  

Thank you for having me! 

Leave a comment