Ask the Author: C E Hoffman

What would you like readers to know about you? 

I’d like readers to know how amazing it is to find readers! The inception of ideas and completion of projects comes easily to me.  My struggle is in finding those elusive, amazing humans who want to carry a part of my heart in their pocket. In short: thank you. 

What is your book about for those who haven’t read it? 

Sluts and Whores is a short story collection full of magic, angst, and hope. It challenges damaging stereotypes of sex workers by placing a variety of characters into unexpected, and often magical, scenarios. 
 

What has been your inspiration for writing it? 

The stories in this book were written over a span of at least a decade. I was suddenly inspired to arrange this collection on a bright summer day in Toronto, ON when I was broke and miserable. The rest is history!  

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write? 

I have a soft spot for any stories (or books) featuring Ez, a f*ckup with a heart of gold. 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer? 

Zadie Smith, Irvine Welsh, and Martin Millar are the contemporaries to whom I owe the most thanks. 

What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book? 

To those who want to write a book, I say, start with short stories. Exercise your literary muscles. Acquaint yourself with plot and characterization. Learn to jog, then run the marathon.  

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1945247983

https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/sluts-and-whores/9781945247989-item.html?ref=isbn-search

One thought on “Ask the Author: C E Hoffman

Leave a comment